• Health Matters Logo  

    Welcome to Health Matters! 

    The health and well-being of our students and staff is a top priority at Lake Travis ISD.  This page and related links contain information and resources for parents on important health matters in our schools and is intended to complement the efforts of our campus nurses and their respective websites.  For questions or concerns regarding a specific health matter at a particular campus, please contact the respective campus nurse directly. 

    Bee Cave Elementary School - April Hicks, RN I hicksa@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6261 I Website

    Lake Pointe Elementary School - Margaret Freudenburg, RN I freudenburgm@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6519 I Website

    Lake Travis Elementary School - Ursula Porter, RN I porteru@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6304 I Website

    Lakeway Elementary School - Susie Schreib, RN I schreibs@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6365 I Website
     
    Serene Hills Elementary School - Bobbi Roberts,  RN I robertsbo@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-7402 I Website

    West Cypress Hills Elementary School - Dana Hensel, RN I henseld@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-7593 I Website

    Hudson Bend Middle School - Sue Meyerhofer, RN I meyerhofers@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6414 I Website

    Lake Travis Middle School - Becca Harkelroad, RN I harkelraodb@ltisdscohools.org I 512-533-6222 I Website

    Lake Travis High School - Kathy Fredrickson, RN, Angelique Scott I fredricksonk@ltisdschools.org or scotta@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6124 I Website

    Additional Resources:

    Kathleen Hassenfratz, LTISD Health & Social Program Coordinator I hassenfratzk@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6041 I Website

    Laura Abbott, Ed.D., LTISD Director of Special Services I abbottl@ltisdschools.org I 512-533-6465 I Website
     
     
    Influenza (The Flu)

     

    Influenza—or The Flu—is an infection of the nose, throat, and lungs caused by influenza viruses.  There are many different influenza viruses that are constantly changing.  The flu can be very dangerous for children.  Each year about 20,000 children younger than 5 years old are hospitalized from flu complications, like pneumonia.

     

    Students with the flu should stay home to rest and to avoid giving the flu to classmates and other students. Children should refrain from attending school, child care or other school-related activities for at least 24 hours once the child is fever free and without the use of fever-reducing medicine.  

     

    The timing of flu is very unpredictable and can vary from season to season.  Flu activity most commonly peaks in the U.S. between December and February.  However, seasonal flu activity can begin as early as October and continue to occur as late as May.  The single best way to protect against the flu is to get vaccinated each year.  The CDC recommends that all children 6 months old or older get a flu vaccine.

     

    Flu resources for parents: