• UIL Competition Info Sheet

    Permission Form_ 1 for each Event required

     

    Announcing LTMS UIL Academic Competition Tryouts for 2019-2020!

     

    Tryouts will be held the Week of Dec 9th-13th by appointment with each coach.

    • Students must schedule their tryouts ahead of time directly with each event coach.
    • Students are encouraged to tryout for more than 1 event, but can only participate in 1 Wed event and 1 Sat event maximum if they make more than 1 team. See back of paper for which events competition are on Wed or Sat.
    • A separate permission form and appointment is needed for each tryout/coach. Submit the tryout permission form directly to each event coach at the time of the tryout.
    • Students who make a team and commit to it are expected to go to practice 2x a week until the competition dates.

     

    UIL Competition Event Dates- students must be able to attend the competition dates below

    • Wednesday March 4th - Math and Writing at Dripping Springs MS                  8am-12pm
    • Saturday March 7th - All other events at Sycamore Springs MS                     8am- 4pm

     

     

    How to Schedule a UIL Tryout: Dec 9th-13th

     

    1. Check and make sure your student is available to attend the competition dates.
    2. Read the event summaries on the previous page.
      • More detailed information can be found on LTMS UIL web page, under the ‘Activities’ tab.
    1. Choose one or more events to try out for that fit the student’s academic strengths.
    2. Tryout appointments must be made ahead of time directly by the coach, at Go Time.
    3. Attend the scheduled tryout and return a signed permission form for each different event.

     

    UIL Team Info 

    Competition Date

    Event

    Coach

    Email

    Room

    Wed 3/4

    Sat 3/7

    Music Memory

    Leslie Perez

    Perezl@ltisdschools.org

    606

     

    *

    Science

    Jose Gonzalez

    gonzalezjo@ltisdschools.org

    763

     

    *

    Social Studies

    Jolea Goclan

    goclanj@ltisdschools.org

    607

     

    *

    Maps, Graphs, Charts

    Sheri Bates

    batess@ltisdschools.org

    707

     

    *

    Number Sense

    David Taylor

    Taylord@ltisdschools.org

    756

    *

     

    Calculator Apps

    Raquel Lloreda

    Lloredar@ltisdschools.org

    856

    *

     

    Mathematics

    Cristy Rizzoli

    Rizzolic@ltisdschools.org

    758

    *

     

    Chess Puzzle

    Sharon Smith

    Smithsh@ltisdschools.org

    551

     

    *

    Listening Skills

    Brittany Bishop

    Bishopb@ltisdschools.org

    660

     

    *

    Impromptu Speaking

    Joan Tennison

    Tennisonj@ltisdschools.org

    760

     

    *

    Modern Oratory

    Rachel Croci

    Crocir@ltisdschools.org

    807

     

    *

    Oral Reading

    Amy McCarty

    McCartya@ltisdschools.org

    201

     

    *

    Spelling

    Michelle Dees

    deesm@ltisdschools.org

    852

     

    *

    Dictionary Skills

    Jessie Lawson Golden

    goldenj@ltisdschools.org

    802

     

    *

    Editorial Writing

    Martha Medlock

    Medlockm@ltisdschools.org

    806

    *

     

    Ready Writing

    Brian Bass

    Bassb@ltisdschools.org

    608

    *

     

    Team Selections will be posted on each coach’s door on the morning of Dec 19th.

     

    Practice will be held weekly at Go Time, or by after/before school meeting, starting the week of Jan 7th. Student must attend practices and be passing all classes to stay on the team.   

     

    We hope to see you there!

    Please make sure you can attend the competition dates before joining a team!

     

    Contact UIL Coordinator, Joan Tennison, at tennisonj@ltisdschools.org with questions.