•  

     

     

    Announcing LTMS UIL Academic Competition Tryouts for 2018-2019!

     

    UIL Information Sheet_Printable Version

    UIL Tryout Permission Form_Printable Version

     

    UIL Competition Event Dates- students must be able to attend the competition dates below

    • Wednesday March 27th- Math and Writing at Lake Travis MS 8am-12pm

    • Saturday March 30th - All other events at Hudson Bend MS 8am- 4pm

     

    Tryouts will be held the Week of Jan 14th-18th by appointment with each coach. 

    • Students must schedule their tryouts ahead of time directly with each event coach.
    • Students are encouraged to tryout for more than 1 event, but can only participate in 1 Wed event and 1 Sat event maximum if they make more than 1 team. See back of paper for which events competition are on Wed or Sat.
    • A separate permission form and appointment is needed for each tryout/coach. Submit the tryout permission form directly to each event coach at the time of the tryout.
    • Students who make a team and commit to it are expected to go to practice 2x a week until the competition dates.

     

    Choose from 16 Academic Events!

     

    How to Schedule a UIL Tryout: Jan 14th-18th

    1. Check and make sure your student is available to attend the competition dates.
    2. Read the event summaries on the previous page.
    3. Choose one or more events to try out for that fit the student’s academic strengths.
    4. Appointments to tryout must be made ahead of time, at Go Time. The student should visit each event coach of interest (listed below) to find out their tryout times, find out about the event, sign up to try out, and get a permission form they will need to return at the time of their tryout.
    5. Attend the scheduled tryout and return a signed permission form for each different event. 

     

    UIL Team Info

     

    Competition Date

    Event

    Coach

    Email

    Room

    Wed 3/27

    Sat 3/30

    Music Memory

    Kim Oren

    Orenk@ltisdschools.org

    706

     

    *

    Science

    Laurie Webb

    Webbla@ltisdschools.org

    662

     

    *

    Social Studies

    Brian Rosenberg

    Rosenbergb@ltisdschools.org

    703

     

    *

    Maps, Graphs, Charts

    Mary Carnes

    Carnesm@ltisdschools.org

    763

     

    *

    Number Sense

    David Taylor

    Taylord@ltisdschools.org

    756

    *

     

    Calculator Apps

    Raquel Lloreda

    Lloredar@ltisdschools.org

    856

    *

     

    Mathematics

    Tori Allen

    Allent@ltisdschools.org

    655

    *

     

    Chess Puzzle

    Sharon Smith

    Smithsh@ltisdschools.org

    551

     

    *

    Listening Skills

    Brittany Bishop

    BishopB@ltisdschools.org

    660

     

    *

    Impromptu Speaking

    Joan Tennison

    Tennisonj@ltisdschools.org

    760

     

    *

    Modern Oratory

    Jenn Monshaugen

    MonshaugenJ@ltisdschools.org

    702

     

    *

    Oral Reading

    Amy McCarty

    McCartya@ltisdschools.org

    201

     

    *

    Spelling

    Vanessa Molina

    Molinav@ltisdschools.org

    708

     

    *

    Dictionary Skills

    Leslie Perez

    Perezl@ltisdschools.org

    606

     

    *

    Editorial Writing

    Martha Medlock

    Medlockm@ltisdschools.org

    806

    *

     

    Ready Writing

    Brian Bass

    Bassb@ltisdschools.org

    608

    *

     

     

    Team Selections will be posted on each coach’s door on the morning of Jan 25th.

     

    Practice will be held weekly at Go Time, or by after/before school meeting, starting the week of Jan 28th. Student must attend practices and be passing all classes to stay on the team.   

     

    We hope to see you there!

    Please make sure you can attend the competition dates before joining!

     

    Contact UIL Coordinator, Joan Tennison, at tennisonj@ltisdschools.org with questions.