Return to Headlines

Lake Travis High School recognizes 37 students under the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

Lake Travis High School principal Gordon Butler is pleased to announce that 37 seniors have been recognized by the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

These students entered the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (NMSQT) as high school juniors in 2017.  They were chosen from more than 1.5 million program entrants and represent less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors.  According to the National Merit Scholarship Program, these students are the top scorers from each state and show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  Additionally, the National Hispanic Recognition Program identifies nearly 5,000 outstanding Hispanic/Latino students each year, while the National Achievement Scholarship Program provides recognition for outstanding Black American high school students.

“To be recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program is a very unique honor,” said Gordon Butler, Lake Travis High School principal.  “The remarkable achievements by these students not only reflect the quality and caliber of our teachers and staff who directly impact student learning, it also representative of the support and commitment from our parents.  They too are to be commended.  I am one proud principal!”

The following students are recognized by the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

  • Savannah Alter - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Salvador Alanis - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Luke Arney - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Brooke Berens - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Madison Bigler - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Vaishnav Bipin - Commended Scholar
  • Catherine Brown - Commended Scholar
  • Jacob Clemmons - Commended Scholar
  • Andrew Cohan - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Anna Dorius - Commended Scholar
  • Colby Gordon - Commended Scholar
  • Jackson Harmer - Commended Scholar
  • Julia Hathaway - National Merit Semifinalist
  • Erik Holmertz - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Carter Jespersen - Commended Scholar
  • Elise Johnson - Commended Scholar
  • Savannah Kemppainen - Commended Scholar
  • Cade Kordzik - Commended Scholar
  • Ashley Londa - Commended Scholar
  • Jack Lum - Commended Scholar, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Shriniket Maddipatla - National Merit Semifinalist
  • Angela Maione - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Nicholas Martinez - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Mackenzie Matheson - Commended Scholar
  • John Minyen - Commended Scholar
  • Shan Momin - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Nicholas Navarro - Commended Scholar, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Blake Ochoa - Commended Scholar, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Travis Palmer - Commended Scholar
  • Calion Phan - Commended Scholar
  • Thomas Plaxton - National Merit Semifinalist, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Claire Rodgers - Commended Scholar
  • Kaitlyn Rouse - National Hispanic Scholar
  • Kaitlyn Schoonmaker - Commended Scholar
  • Anna Sentmanat - Commended Scholar, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Alejandro Urista - Commended Scholar, National Hispanic Scholar
  • Guan Lin Wee – Commended Scholar

The Lake Travis school board recognized these students and their parents at its regular meeting in October, and the students will also be recognized during halftime of the Lake Travis vs. Anderson varsity football game November 9 at Cavalier Stadium.